Premed 101 Forums

Advice for older applicant

Guest ilisten

Guest ilisten

Hi there - I am very new to this site and have a number of questions.

First off I'm 36 and applying to McMaster. I am in the process of completing a Graduate degree in Couns. Psych at UofT - I'm doing it part time while working full time as a psychotherpaist. I've been counselling for the part 5 years - completed my 4 year honours undergrad in Environmental Studies in 1996. I had a bum 1st year that really set my GPA back - it's 3.24 (However, I made up for it - by 4th year I ended up graduating on the deans list) - I know that MM's GPA is 3.0 and I've read all the posts on that topic - I'm just looking for an honest answer - should I bother with a 3.24 and being 36 years old? What are your thoughts? Two strikes against me - right from the getgo....

My graduate degree won't be completed until April 2006 therefore I can't use that .1 (big deal) to up my GPA.

Your honesty would be greatly appreciated!

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

Although your undergraduate GPA is a hindrance, it's not a deal-breaker as far as entering an MD program goes. In terms of the academic portion of your application, it's very good that you trended towards the Dean's list in undergrad. Also, if your graduate marks are A- or above, then that will certainly help to boost the academic portion of your application too. Also, did you manage to achieve some publications and presentations during your graduate work? If not, will you be able to by the time you apply for medical school? At some schools, these will be essential for balancing your earlier academic history.