Premed 101 Forums

Psychotherapist as Reference?

Guest ilisten

Guest ilisten

Hi - I had originally posted this as a response under another heading and was hoping to get some responses - here is my original post - any thoughts?

Hi there - I'm relatively new to this forum and have so many questions! I'll begin with references.

I'm an older student - completed my 4 year honours undergrad in 1996 and just wrapping up a graduate degree now in Counselling Psych (I've been completing it part/time while working full/time) - Needless to say - my references are limited. I used an undergrad prof to apply to grad school but that was 2 years ago - I'm not sure how strong a reference he will be after having taught me 9 years ago - thoughts?

Also, I have been seeing a doctor turned psychotherapist for the past 5 years for personal development - she knows me better than anyone and is willing to write me a glowing reference - however, she's strongly advised me against it - given that psychotherapy is still frowned upon in the medical community (except of course psychiatry and some family docs). My therapist warned that if I'm selected for an interview and have a surgeon on my panel her reference will be a strike against me.

I agree with her - but I still can't help thinking what an incredible reference it will be and given that my options for references are limited I'm feeling stuck.

I have been working as a psychotherapist myself for the past 5 years and have a reference from my supervisor - however she is a Social Worker - I was hoping to use my therapist given the fact that she was once a family doc.

Any thoughts? Recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

Guest Jochi1543

Is she your shrink, basically? I'm not sure I quite understand your relationship. If you are her patient, that doesn't sound right to me and may present you in a questionable light to the review panel.