Premed 101 Forums

Ad Coms & Commitments

Guest Elliott

Guest Elliott

I am on the fence about something and wanted to see if I could get a little feedback:

I have been at my current job for three and a half years now (I am 24). It is a good job, in a corporate company. I worked there full time during a two year break from school and now I have been working there in the summers full time and part time during the school year.

Problem is, I am really starting to dislike it there. The people are wonderful, the pay is good - I just don't feel any challenge there anymore. I am an Admin Assistant, so basically all I do all day is stuff people are too lazy to do themselves.

I would like to resign from my position but I am contemplating several dilemmas:

1. I want to show commitment to something on my med school app. If I leave now, would it look bad on my part?

2. I think someone at my work is a very promising candidate for a reference - is it inappropriate to resign and still ask for a LOR from them?

Thoughts/experiences/etc. greatly appreciated!!

Elliott

Guest peachy
1. I want to show commitment to something on my med school app. If I leave now, would it look bad on my part?
Don't make a decision like this based on how it'll look on your application. Make a decision based on what is right for you, and for your life. Then when they ask you about it in the interview or the essay you will be able to truly and passionately explain why you made the choices that you did.

That's pretty deep peachy, I totally agree.

I think it depends on your supervisor, and how you leave your job. I was in the same boat a few years ago. After working for a company full time for a few years, it was gut wrenching to tell them I was leaving - they treated me very well, and my time of departure would be during a crucial time in the project.