Premed 101 Forums

Please help!

Guest Ahimsa

Guest Ahimsa

Hi Everyone,

I seem to be having a serious dilemma and hope someone won’t mind offering some advice.

I completed my undergraduate degree on a part-time basis, and unfortunately, my GPA did not meet any of the medical school cut-offs. Since I wasn’t greatly interested in research, I decided not to pursue a Master’s degree, and instead, decided to complete another undergraduate degree (full time) with the aim of improving my GPA, as well as being considered for medical schools that require full-time study (e.g. UWO). Thus, I decided to pursue a Bachelor of Health Sciences program at UWO. However, upon designing my schedule for the next two years (since I already possess a degree, I can complete a four year degree in two years), I was quite alarmed by the workload. In essence, I would have to take a full year biology, chemistry, and stats, as well as several half-courses in science and health sciences. It’s not so much the in-class time I am concerned about (which is, in itself, insane), but the amount of time I would have to spend studying. It basically seems that I would have to be studying every waking hour outside of class (evenings and weekends). Keep in mind that I am a ‘mature’ student, with family responsibilities as well as a part-time job, which makes the whole idea incredibly frightening. Also keep in mind that I have to obtain a pretty high GPA over the next two years as well, and my science background is not very strong (i.e. I don’t even have any grade 12 or OAC sciences).