Premed 101 Forums

Need some help please

Guest student1599

Guest student1599

Hi there, I've got a couple of questions and hope you guys could give me some solid feedback.

First of all, I'm a U of T student about to complete my degree and still haven't taken any organic chemistry courses (so I'm planning on taking them in the summer at York instead of U of T, it's must less condensed at York in the summer). Will the adcoms care if I fullfill the orgo requirement at another school? Secondly, when I took first year bio (with lab), I ended up with a combined average of 63%, but my marks have gone significantly higher in the subsequent years (around 3.62). Will they weigh the pre-requisites (most of which I took during first and second year) as much as they weigh my courses in my final two years?

Lastly, I didn't take a full course load in my first and second years (I actually took 2.5 credits in the first year, and 3.5 in the second year due to an illness of mine). However, I successfully completed my last couple of years with a full course load and decent marks. How badly will my two first years hurt my application?

Many thanks in advance, hope you guys can help.

Guest Lactic Folly

It depends which schools you are considering.. each has their own weighting and formula for admission.. which schools are you looking at?

Guest patentforamenovale

Hi there, As much as this might surprise you, you dont need to do any orgo courses to be accepted into OMSAS schools. The only school (barring NOMS, which I have no information about) that has a distinct prerequisites list is Ottawa, where you have to take chemistry and orgo/biochem. I had biochem courses so I was interviewed (and subsequently accepted) there, without enduring a year of pointless orgo. However, it may be a neccessary evil since it is tested on the MCAT, but at a far more rudimentary level.

Guest blinknoodle