Premed 101 Forums

Research Positions? (Prob repeat ?)

Guest namcln

Guest namcln

I am sure this has been brought up but with the boards being all wacky, I wanted to put it out there again.

As our elective, we can choose to do research, yes? What is the possibility of this research being funded? Is it competitive for slots? Is funding more of a summer thing and a for-credit thing during the school year? I have been working in research for over three years and, as a professional scientist, I have not needed to apply for NSERC/NIH/CIHR etc. Is that a requirement for funding?

Thanks everyone in advance. I'll be seeing you very soon. :eek

Guest MicroMaster

I would also like to add (provided we are talking about the BSc MED program), what normal elective time are you required to give up? Does it entail lots of extra time? Do we miss other cool med electives?

Thanks

Guest namcln

I'm actually NOT talking about the BSc MED program. The website states for that:

"The BSc(Med) program is designed to provide a select group of highly qualified and motivated first and second year medical students with an opportunity to gain experience in basic and/or clinical research during their time as undergraduate students. The program necessitates a commitment to research that utilizes elective time in first and second years, as well as two, 12-week summer periods following first and second years. Additionally, the program includes the regular undergraduate medical curriculum in first and second years, a research project, formal weekly seminars during the summer, a report following completion of the first summer's research, a written thesis and oral defense of the thesis."

I already have a MSc in Medical Science and three years of practical professional research experience. I do not need to write and defend another thesis (number three for me), I wouldn't imagine? The only way I would want to do that is in an MD/PhD program, which I am certain I do not want to do at this point.