Premed 101 Forums

landed immigrant in canada and i need help,urgently

Guest sunset33

Guest sunset33

hi ,we landed in montreal and i've studying medicine in egypt at cairo university for the last 3 years,medicine in egypt is 6 years ,with no pre-med.i have an american diploma from an american high school in egypt and thanks to GOD i passed both SAT1 and 2, i'm trying to apply to any medical school in canada but no one listens,they all tell me take the MCAT and we'll see,but taking the MCAT means i'll be sitting a year at home,as far as i've known people told me that Mcmaster and university of ottawa are my best options ,cause they dont want any MCAT , and i think Mcmaster is the best option cause it has no prerequisites, but i need to start mylife in canada as soon as possible, and in canada ,there's no guarenteed admission , and i'm scared that i might not be accepted,then i dont know what i'll do , please people your help is needed because i dont know what to do about my position?thanks in advance.

Guest kaymcee

Hi sunset33,

I, unfortunately, cannot answer your questions regarding the complications of international applications. I do know that there are very few Canadian universities that accept immigrants, but McGill comes to mind as a university that does.

Copy and paste this post into the "Temporary General Premed Discussions" or the "Temporary Med Students Discussions". We recently had a bit of a forum disaster where many posts were lost. As a result, many of the older non-Temporary forums have been pretty much abandoned.

I'm sorry I can't help, but good luck.

Guest aneliz

If you are a landed immigrant (with appropriate paperwork), you will not need to worry about the 'international' application process and you should be eligible to apply to any Canadian medical school. You will be able to apply to a Canadian med school just like any Canadian student would.