Premed 101 Forums

help please! I'm an immigrant... What should i do?

Guest b2sai

Guest b2sai

Please help. I'm immigrating to Canada next year and I want to take up premed there. Im currently in my first year of college, I took up Bachelor of Science in Medical Technology.

My problem is that I have no idea of what pre-med courses should I take in Ontario, Canada.

(Assuming all the papers needed for immigration are o.k.)

What are my chances of getting in a premed school ?

What premed courses do they offer ?

What papers do they require of immigrants?

OMSAS ? sounds Greek to me...

Guest maxell

My problem is that I have no idea of what pre-med courses should I take in Ontario, Canada.

> TYPE IN OMSAS IN ANY SEARCH ENGINE (E.G. GOOGLE). IT WILL TAKE YOU TO A LINK THAT HAS FULL INFO REGRADING THE PREREQUISITES

(Assuming all the papers needed for immigration are o.k.)

What are my chances of getting in a premed school ?

> DEPENDS, THERE IS NO "PREMED SCHOOL". ANY AREA THAT LEADS TO A B.SC. OR B.A. WITH THE PREREQUISITE COURSES WILL DO. YOU APPLY TO THAT UNIVERSITY'S PROGRAM. CHANCES OF GETTING IN A B.SC. DEGREE PROGRAM HERE ARE VERY GOOD. YOU WILL HOWEVER NEED TO WRITE THE MCAT.

WHEN APPLYING TO MED SCHOOL, IF YOU ARE A LANDED IMMIGRANT YOU SHOULD (THEORETICALLY) HAVE THE SAME CHANCES AS CANADIAN CITIZENS. BUT DISCRIMINATION EXISTS AT SOME LEVEL SINCE THEY WILL DISCREDIT YOUR FOREIGN WORK / VOLUNTEER EXPEREINCES. IF YOU ARE ON A STUDENT VISA, DON'T BOHTHER APPLYING. MEDICINE IS ONLY FOR CAN CITIZENS AND LANDED IMMIGRANTS. YOU CAN INQUIRE AT MACMASTER AND DALHOUSIE FOR A SPECIAL FOREINGER PROGRAM (>$30,000 A YEAR WITH LIMITED SEATS AND NO CHANCE OF RESIDENCY IN CANADA)

What premed courses do they offer ?

YOU NEED TO ENQUIRE AT THE UNIVERSITY OF YOUR CHOICE

What papers do they require of immigrants?

>LANDED PAPERS

OMSAS ? sounds Greek to me...

Guest UWOMED2005