Premed 101 Forums

Graduate GPA - Still confused

Guest Quest82

Guest Quest82

Hi,

I am currently doing my Masters in Pathology at Queen's University. This program requires that students take 4 graduate courses (2.0 credits in total) over 2 years (then we are given a Pass/Fail for our MSc). I am planning on completing all 4 courses in my first year and then applying to Ottawa medical school. Does anyone know if/how Ottawa takes graduate marks into consideration?

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

Ottawa takes graduate marks into consideration if your undergraduate wGPA is less than the cut-offs. (If the wGPA is above the cut-offs, then the graduate GPA is not considered during the first stage of the admissions process.) If you don't meet the undergraduate wGPA cut-off then your graduate GPA must be at an A or above.

That being said, if you have not yet begun your graduate courses, Ottawa will not count them. They will only look at graduate courses which have been completed by the application deadline date.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest avisee

That's exactly why Ottawa will not consider you for the special grad applicant pool if you are enrolled in a one-year masters program. Unless you meet the cutoff for the undergrad pool, you have to have completed some grad courses (is there a minimum number?) before October, so ideally in a previous year of a multi-year grad program. Isn't there also a stipulation that EACH of your grad marks must be an A?