Premed 101 Forums

Quebec Loan

Guest whynot

Guest whynot

Anyone have any experience with the Quebec Loans system? I applied May 31. I waited because they specifically said on their site to send all supporting documents in as one package, so I had to wait until I graduated to get my transcript. It has been 7 weeks, and they still have not processed the documents. They say this is normal, but I was wondering if anyone else had these delays.

I am in a quandry about what to do if it doesn't come through before the tuition is due.

I assume that if I successfully apply for a LOC it will stop my student loan, and what ever government scholarship/bursary that would come with it.:(

Guest lothya

I've gone to school with quebec loans for four years now, and i agree about the wait being normal. I applied in April, and just heard from them this past week. (Not to mention that they have decided to revert to the old format of loan certificates at the last minute, which makes it all look rather disorganized).

I don't think that applying for a LOC will jeapordize your loan in any way. A loan is not income. I got a med student LOC about a month before my gov't loan was approved and it made no difference whatsoever for me. It just made me feel more confident that there will be at least some money to pay tuition on time! I figure it's best to just relax and wait -- no amount of stress, sweat and tears can hurry a determined bureaucracy....

:rolleyes

Guest cutieyellow

The Quebec Loan system is indeed quite quite stenuous and takes FOREVER to process, especially if it's your first year. I made a mistake in my loan application and i think it took them nearly 6 months to correct this (many many many harassing phone calls later...). However, this year, i reapplied and it barely took them a month before i got all my money and everything was peachy. Just cross your fingers, i'm sure everything will be fine.