Premed 101 Forums

Government loans for OOP students

Guest Spazumn

Guest Spazumn

Hi everyone,

I'm a bit late in the game of shopping around for loans and LOCs as it has taken me some time to figure out whether I'm actually starting my studies this year or not! Well now things are cleared up and I have a whole new set of worries. 8o

I am a Quebec resident going to U of T this fall, and I found on the Quebec student financial assistance website that they do not offer loans to medical students studying out of province. I know that I am not eligible for OSAP either. Is anyone else in a similar situation who has found some kind of loophole? The prospect of being fully dependent on my bank LOC (either BMO or RBC...still undecided) is daunting to say the least as the debt will be enormous, but I suppose there are many others faced with the same situation.

I would appreciate hearing your opinions!

Guest Ollie

Wow, that really sucks. I guess it's because med school tuition is so cheap in Quebec for residents, that they don't want you going OOP. I would look into it further. If you weren't accepted in Quebec then you have no choice but to go elsewhere. I'm a BC resident going to UofT, and I will definitely get a loan from BCSAP. Maybe call UofT, I'm sure they've run into this before.

Guest noncestvrai

Well can't you apply for Canada student loans (if it does exist)?

I thought that even if you don't study in Quebec you can apply for Quebec loans (as a resident)...or at least to UofO.

noncestvrai

I'm going OOP from BC to Ontario (unless Calgary calls me first). BC residents like me who go OOP apply for BC and Canada student loans here in BC, just as if I were going to a local university. You should qualify for Canada student loans at least, it's too bad Quebec won't give Provincial loans the same. Not sure if this helps at all.....

Guest Ticket

Hello,