Premed 101 Forums

Internal Medicine hours - "terrible"

Guest physiology

Guest physiology

Hey,

I was talking to a med student at Queens during the summer, and he said that the hours for an IM residency are terrible. I don't what "terrible" means in this case. Anyone care to elaborate?

Guest Ian Wong

At Queen's, IM is a pretty front-loaded program, so first year residents work really hard. One of my classmates is a first year resident there, and he's pretty tired. :) He's learning a ton though, which makes it all worthwhile. The call schedule gets easier as you progress through the residency, like most other residencies.

I can't speak for Queen's IM program, but at UBC, residents on their inpatient general Internal Medicine rotations work q4. When I was a med student, I kept the same hours as those residents, so here's a typical week, with q4 call thrown in.

Mon: Show up at 7 am. Leave at 5 pm. (10 hour shift)

Tues: Show up at 7 am. On call that entire night.

Wed: Still on call from last night. Leave at 2 pm (31 hour shift).

Thurs: Show up at 7 am. Leave at 5 pm. (10 hour shift)

Friday: Show up at 7 am. Leave at 5 pm. (10 hour shift)

Saturday. Show up at 8 am. On call that entire day and night.

Sunday. Still on call from last night. Leave at 2 pm (30 hour shift).

Monday: Show up at 7 am... (repeat cycle for 2 months).

In this average 7 day week, you work a total of around 90 hours per week. This is probably a little on the high end of things (as you get more efficient, you get out earlier each day), but not really that atypical for a third year med student on Internal Medicine. To put things into perspective, in one on-call shift of 30+ hours, you are nearly putting in the same number of hours that a non-medical full-time job requires in a WEEK.