Premed 101 Forums

3.75 GPA..competitive enough?

Guest Alastriss

Guest Alastriss

Hey all

I'm a second year university student and Ive been working fairly hard..and so far my cGPA is 3.75 I dont know If i can actually boost it up in my 3rd and 4th years..so I was wondering if this gpa is competitive enough. I hear about a lot of people with higher gpa's not getting in so im just wondering myself whether or not I have a decent shot

Guest MrNeuroscience

A 3.75 (especially after only two years) is very competitive for medical school. You have to remember that not every school looks at all your marks the same way; at Mac you will have a 3.75, but at U of T you may have something closer to a 4 ... all schools have different weighting schemes.

As for individuals with higher GPAs not being accepted, there is SO much more to the application than just your GPA. Your personal essay can make or break your application, the way you spend your time outside of classes and your passion for the pursuit of medicine are all arguably as important as maintaing a high GPA.

Don't sweat it.

Guest TheChosenOneDDS

with that attitude if I gave you a 3.85 you'll still not get in. Why because you think like a loser. 3.75 is a reasonable range for people to get into med school so it is not like you are just leaving everything to chance.

I understand where you are coming from though. You're trying to look for the minimum, that feeling of stability. Let me tell you this, in these applications, there is NEVER that. I've reviewed applications that were 4.0 GPA and they still got rejected from dental school. I think I had around that average and I was accepted into both med and dental school including U of T 4 years ago. Don't sweat it.

Guest Lurkergonepublic

I have a 3.5 and I've had 4 interviews this year - of course none of them were in Ontario where GPA cutoffs are higher and more popular, but I have much more on my application than just a university education.