Premed 101 Forums

USMLE needed in which state?

Guest westsimba

Guest westsimba

Does anyone know which states require the USMLE to practice and which ones will take your LMCC (MCCQE)?

I recall seeing a list where about half the states require it and half don't.

Guest PanjabiMD

I think that only a few (2-3) states DO NOT REQUIRE the USMLE. All other states require it.

As to which states don't... I think Minnesota falls into that category. Not 100% sure, but you could probably find that information somewhere.

PMD

Guest Jochi1543

No, Minnesota requires it. I would suggest Googling some Deep South states, they are behind the rest of America in everything, so if USMLEs are not required anywhere, it'd be there.

Guest Anish  P

hey westsimba... I found some information on the AMA's website which may (hopefully) be useful...

--- A quote from the ECFMG medical licensing FAQ found here:

Q. I am a Canadian physician. What do I need to do to practice medicine in the U.S.?

A. Physicians from Canada who want to practice in the US need to learn about the policies of the state licensing board for the state in which they want to practice.

Overall, the state licensing boards for almost all states in the US consider physicians who have completed medical school in Canada as equivalent to US medical graduates. 44 boards endorse the Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC) as evidence of passing an acceptable licensing examination. The few that don’t (Florida, Guam, Hawaii, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina and the Virgin Islands) would require that you take the USMLE examinations for licensure here.

Every state and territory (except for Guam) accepts residency training from an accredited program in Canada as equivalent to training in the US. However, if a physician graduated from a medical school outside Canada or the US, he or she would need to check with the individual state licensing board for their rules.