Premed 101 Forums

Have I missed out? Please Read This

Guest Sam

I'd like to know if Queen's looks for favourably on applicants with a master's degree. I don't have one. Some days I kick myself wishing I'd done one. I've been out of school for one year now without steady work. I think of people I know who are now doing interesting research and getting articles published and I feel like that would make them much more appealing to Queen's adcoms. I have quite a few years experience in health care and I did a 4th year reseach project (nothing published), but I sometimes worry that I made a mistake by not completing a masters. Some one please shed some light(preferably the encouraging variety). Thanks.

Guest strider2004

Sam,

Out of 80 people, the class of 2004 has about 10-15 MSc graduates. The adcom is looking for people with interesting experiences. It doesn't have to be from research. There are people who have travelled around the world, become artists, chefs, dancers, you name it! The average age of matriculation is about 25 so over half the class didn't even have enough time to do a masters. And of the rest, only a fraction did. Don't worry about it.

Strider

Guest RAK2001

Strider,

I am going to Queen's meds this fall, and I am doing the scramble for an apt. Someone gave me the Queen's housing link to on-line listings, but I want something a little nicer, and preferably not houses with apts in them... Where would be a good rental place to visit, and how far away from campus is reasonable (I do have a car)... Thanks alot.

RAK

PS - To Sam,

I think you should do a Masters ONLY if you enjoy research. I did one, and liked my field alot... However another buddy did a MSc with LOTS of pubs and did not even get waitlisted at Queen's (and regrets spending so much time in the lab). You'll be locked into two years if you choose to do one so think carefully.

Guest Kirsteen Can MBA

Hi,