Premed 101 Forums

Any chance of getting into Pre-med?

lagwagon

Hi,

I'm a third-semester CEGEP student, and I have a CRC of 33.8

If I do well this semester, I might be able to raise it up to a 34.5

In which case, I was wondering if I have any chace of getting into pre-med at Mcgill?

I never intended on applying thinking I wouln't get in, but if I can save two years, why not?

Anyway, with your experiences, do you think I would have a chance??

Thanks

I got accepted by McGill last may. I had a CRC of 36,3. But, I know some people who had higher than me and did not make it and some people with a lowest CRC than me and got in. It depends on many factors. But, a good biographical letter is certainly a good start. Start writing it way before the deadline and review it as many times as you can. Let some people who knoe you also read it to correct it. If you make a good letter, that's gonna help you for the interview because they are gonna ask you questions about you letter. So be honest and start early and you never know what can happen! You also have to apply to Laval, Montreal and Sherbrooke even if your first choice is McGill....

Yamuh

I guess youre right

they do consider many different factors, and by applying I dont have anything to lose really. And I have no problem with doing a bachelor first.. I'm still debating between Biochem or Immunology...

But, Ill do my best this semester and definetly follow your advice about the letter.

Thanks for replying!

Hey I know that at least 3 people got in last year to McGill with a CRC around 34 (one of them for sure lower) so don't give up. Also it's been proven that French cegeps have an advantage with the CRC and the average that McGill Med posts doesn't take that into account. So if you're from an English cegep your 34.5 is better than you think! Of course a 36 is much more comfortable but with a well written letter you can put yourself at the same level.