Premed 101 Forums

out of province students...

Hello all,

Ive been lurking the forum for a while now and have found it very useful. I am currently a first year Science student at the University of Western Ontario that has a few questions in regards to UBC meds...

1. If I have lived in BC all my life except for my undergrad, will I still be treated like an in province student???

2. Will my grades from UWO be weighted differently at all?

3. What courses would I need to complete to fulfill the pre reqs?

Thanks a lot!!!

Thanks, but I already looked on the webpage and the only clear answers I could get were in regards to the pre reqs. However im still not too sure about the English pre req because in Ontario English is not a requirement.

english would still be a requirement. and yes, you would still be considered a in-province applicant if you fall under at least one of the criteria listed on the website. and i'm 100% sure you fall under more than one.

• 1 month later...
do they average all course percentages for oop applicants too? What is the actual oop cutoff? are there diff mcat cutoffs for oop applicants? What is competitive for an oop?

if you've got 90% avg, 35+ MCAT, and decent extracurriculars... chances are you'll at least get interviewed.

if you've got 90% avg, 35+ MCAT, and decent extracurriculars... chances are you'll at least get interviewed.

Actually...you probably need around an 86-88% average...and it doesn't matter what your MCAT is pre-interview. Since you would be considered a BC resident...that GPA is probably lower. The main thing with UBC is your ECs. You need to have reasonable, diverse, fulfilling ECs that you can talk about.

Actually...you probably need around an 86-88% average...and it doesn't matter what your MCAT is pre-interview. Since you would be considered a BC resident...that GPA is probably lower. The main thing with UBC is your ECs. You need to have reasonable, diverse, fulfilling ECs that you can talk about.