Premed 101 Forums

Pre-Req. Question and Exceptions for Part-Time Study

I have two questions for anyone out there that can answer:

1. Does Psychology count as a biological science for the prerequisites? I have 1.5 credits in biology and despite lots of credits in the physical sciences, the only other life sciences credits I have are in psychology (if it counts). It did at Dalhouse, where I did my undergrad, but I'm not sure how U of T considers it.

2. The website says that they might consider granting exceptions for part-time study if a good enough reason is provided. My third year was spent as a part-time student when I was an executive on the student union. I managed to graduate in four years by taking courses in the summer. My GPA as U of T would calculate it now (all courses during regular academic year) is 3.7. However, if I can drop my four lowest credits, it is 3.8, so I'd much rather be applying with that. Has anyone successfully challenged the part-time rule? Has anyone applied as a former SU exec, who is pretty much forced to take part-time studies to fulfill the job requirements?

Thanks.

I have two questions for anyone out there that can answer:

1. Does Psychology count as a biological science for the prerequisites? I have 1.5 credits in biology and despite lots of credits in the physical sciences, the only other life sciences credits I have are in psychology (if it counts). It did at Dalhouse, where I did my undergrad, but I'm not sure how U of T considers it.