Premed 101 Forums

Average accepted GPA

Hey guys,

What would you say is the average accepted GPA for MUNMED? I've read in the Canadian Black Book on med schools in Canada and it stated that average was a 4.0 (80%). Is this real? Most students who are accepted have a 4.0 GPA?

I am in my first year of university at MUN and had a 3.0 GPA last semester and this semester I am predicting a 4.0.

Be careful about how you interpret a GPA for MUN. MUN is on a 4.0 scale, not a 4.3 scale.

As for averages of entering students, the average GPA is about 3.7 out of 4.0 and the grade average is in the low to mid 80's range.

Just take note, that's the average, I was sitting just below 80 when I got in with a GPA just below 3.7.

One last thing, MUN wants well rounded people, that includes extracurriculars, interests, hobbies. Things that you can do to make you stand out will be better, even if they hold you back slightly academically.

Hey guys,

What would you say is the average accepted GPA for MUNMED? I've read in the Canadian Black Book on med schools in Canada and it stated that average was a 4.0 (80%). Is this real? Most students who are accepted have a 4.0 GPA?

I am in my first year of university at MUN and had a 3.0 GPA last semester and this semester I am predicting a 4.0.

If you go to MUN's website FAQ, they list the mean average for entering classes as 80% (and the MCAT as 9's in each section and an O writing sample).

However, the 80% does not mean you need a 4.0 overall GPA. You simply need an 80% average. The problem is the way GPA is set up. Cumulative GPA is the mean of all your semester GPA's. You don't have to have a 4.0 overall GPA to have an 80%+ average.

For example, in engineering, I came out with an 87% overall average. However, since I didn't get >80% in every single course, I ended up with a 3.86 overall GPA (out of 4.0).