Premed 101 Forums

Request for early decision on application? Suggestions?

So I was wondering if anyone’s heard of admissions allowing a student to hear the decision on their application earlier than the expected May 15th.

My case is as follows: I just heard back from an Irish Medical School that I got accepted!!! Which is extremely exciting since, after UBC, University of Dublin is my 2nd choice. However, in order to reserve a spot in the Irish medical school I have to put down 4,000 Euros (equivalent to about $ 6,000 Cnd) by Tuesday May 8th. For me, that’s a lot of money :)

So I was wondering if it would be a smart move to call the admissions office at UBC and tell them my dilemma. It would make my life so much easier to know whether I got accepted to UBC or not, before I make such a huge payment to Ireland. Here’s another thing that’s pushing to me to request an early decision: As a BC resident, I applied last year and was waitlisted until the first day of class. Supposedly this meant that I was extremely close to getting accepted. So they’re familiar with my application.

I have this fear that if I tell UBC my scenario that it would be a negative mark on my application. This is totally unfounded, but could they be more likely to reject me since I’ve already been accepted to another school? Possibly be more inclined to give a spot to someone else who hasn’t been accepted to another school? I know I’m probably looking into this way too much but I thought I’d get others’ opinions before acting too quick.

Any suggestions from you guys would be greatly appreciated. Has anyone here been in the same mess?? Or knows of someone that asked for an early decision?

Thanks in advance.