Premed 101 Forums

Which type of canadian students apply to the US?

I personally applied because I wanted to be judge for more than a number a computer spits out. Hey if I had the numbers that would be great, but sadly I didnt.

You're numbers are not all that bad actually. If you had written the MCAT one more time, you could've gotten 10s across and stand a very good chance at some ON schools - like all of them, except maybe ottawa and NOSM. With your experiences...

Hey

I'm applying to the US as a first choice. I don't want to work in the Canadian system, especially not the Quebec one, and there are more learning opportunities there. However, I have heard that Canadian schools are superior than the US ones, which makes me doubt my choice...

Any ideas about that one?

I want to go to the states because I don't have the numbers that get me in Canada. I'm not a bad student, I do have an excellent science gpa and my overall is ok...I'm a quebec resident, my french sucks, Ontario universities won't even look at my application. My CRU won't ever be good in french universities because of the program I come from as I won't ever pass an interview in french.....which basically makes Mcgill my one and only choice....

I can apply to more than 20 American universities.....American schools are not bad, don't forget that most of the new technology and research actually come from there....

If your GPA is alright and you feel you could interview well in english, have you considered applying OOP. Dalhousie, UBC, Alberta, and MUN are all possibilities. If you want to go to the US, then go. However, if you are going because you believe you can't get into a Canadian school, then don't you want to exhaust all your options first?