Premed 101 Forums

If I get put on academic probation, can I later apply to med school?

I am a student currently on probation and at at the risk of being suspended for a year. If I become unfortunate enough to be suspended, would I have to give up applying to medical schools? I heard Queen's looks at your most recent 2 years' grade and UWO looks at your best 2 years' grade. But if there is a record on my transcript saying that I was suspended for a year, would they reject me without even looking at my most recent/best 2 years' grade?

Has anyone here who was put on probation/suspension but in the end got into medical schools?

Please please please please give me some advice.

I'm assuming you are talking about academic probation. If this is the issue, I would begin to do some soul-searching regarding why you weren't able to keep up with your academic work - realize some of the issues that are affecting your ability to study and amend them. I don't think being on academic probation would affect your ability to attend medical school, but you will need to prove yourself by doing very well for the next few years (i.e. 3.7+ at least). I'd find it hard to believe that schools would simply reject an application because the applicant had been on academic probation for some time.

Before talking to med schools directly, I think it's really important for you to begin understanding the passion/dedication that one needs to commit to be successful in the whole application process of med school, as well as med school itself. Do you honestly feel you're up to the challenge? How are you going to change your study habits? What went wrong before and how are you a different person since then? These are just a few questions you need to ask yourself.

Assuming the probation is GPA-related: