Premed 101 Forums

Just wondering about my chances

Hi, I applied last year to med schools in the US. Unfortunately, I didn't receive any interviews. I applied kind of late last year (i.e. secondaries submitted early November). So, I figured that may have been one of the reasons for my lack of success. Of course, I did try to improve my application this time around with better LOR's, a better essay, and a better extracurriculars.

But besides that, I am wondering if my stats are good enough? I thought they were decent, but I am kind of unsure now if they are good enough for a Canadian applicant. My stats are 3.70 GPA (3.98 GPA BPCM) and 10,10,10,O. Also, I am an electrical engineering grad who has been working for the past two years.

I was just trying to get some realistic feedback on my chances for this application cycle. So, any comments or advice would be very much appreciated.

Your stats seem fine....a higher MCAT would be nicer, but right now it's just about the matriculant average, which is smth like 30.5 P. Your GPA couldn't be a problem. Do you have a strong negative trend in the GPA, maybe? How are your ECs? Any clinical experience? Also, where did you apply? You may have applied to schools that are too competitive for you.

Hi, thanks for responding.

My GPA's been pretty stable throughout my undergrad. I have been volunteering at Toronto General Hospital for 3 years now. And I have about 200 hours of clinical volunteering as part of that.

I was told that my personal statement last year was decent, but it didn't have that "wow" factor - which I really needed because my MCAT isn't that high. So, I really worked on it this year. I got some more feedback from some people (including med school students who post at SDN), and it's been really positive.

And I applied last year mostly to low to middle-tier schools (i.e. Wayne State, Albany, RFU, GW, NYMC, Einstein, Howard, Jefferson). But this year, I have applied a lot more extensively (about 24 schools).