Premed 101 Forums

MCAT importance

I am an in province student with a 90+ average cumulative (4 years).I am graduating this winter semester.

I wrote the the MCAT on September 08, 2007 and just got back my scores.

I received a 28Q: 11 PS 6 VS 11BS :eek: , writing sample Q.

I guess I had a system failure when writing the verbal.

Should I still apply to USask medical school?

How importantly is the MCAT weighted?

Thanks.

At the U of S, the MCAT is essentially pass/fail. They set the minimum requirements...if you score higher, you get the flag and can carry on. Your overall weighted admission average is not affected by your MCAT, but you must meet the requirements.

From the UofS Medicine website: http://www.medicine.usask.ca/admissions/admissions-information/copy_of_academic-requirements/

"All applicants are required to write the MCAT prior to the application deadline and meet minimum scores of 8 in the sciences and verbal reasoning sections, and N in writing skills; however, either one 7 or an M will be accepted. Scores must be available by the application deadline. The best MCAT scores obtained at any one sitting in the last five years will be used (earliest acceptable scores to apply for admission in 2008, will be April 2003). The maximum number of times an applicant may take the MCAT is 5 times (additional sittings will not be accepted unless approved in writing by the Admissions Office, College of Medicine)."

So, unfortunately, it looks like the 6 in VS will knock you out for this year. Perhaps you may wish to write it again, as long as you are currently <5 times in writing it.

Sorry! It looks like you did very well on the other areas. At least now you know where your weak points are.

Kenola