Premed 101 Forums

MD/PhD practical questions

Hello All,

I've been invited to an MD/PhD interview at University of Toronto. Since I have absolutley no one to talk to about the program, I thought I'd pick the brain of some people here (many, many thanks in advance).

1) the program at Toronto says it takes an average of 7 years in total to earn the MD/PhD. I have a really hard time believing the PhD portion takes an average of 3 years - it's a PhD for goodness sake! Honestly, I'm just an undergrad student, and the whole thought of doing a PhD is a little intimidating, let alone in 3 years. I know I could handle an MD/MSc as you only really need 1 1st author paper and course work (I believe). How crazy IS the workload? Do you MD/PhDers have a life outside of school (I'm asking this in all seriousness). Do you find you're able to still pursue a hobby or have some free time?

2) It was news to me that many residents take a "leave of absence" during their residency to pursue a master's or a PhD. Can I ask - what does the master's give you though? As far as I know (very limited), you need a PhD to supervise grad students, so it occurs to me you really couldn't do much research...can anyone shed some light on this?

3) Lastly, a practical aspect - money. In my very limited understanding, a doctor bills the government for each patient he sees and whether he prescribed medicine/did a simple operation etc. If you're an MD/PhD and you spend half your time doing research - how are you paid? Does the hospital give you a base salary? Does a, say, a MD/PhD neurologist make more (or even the same) as the same calibre "simple" MD neurologist? I know it's a little vague, but I think it's a legitimate question.

Thanks very much everyone! Merry Christmas - I really appreciate your time.

I have a really hard time believing the PhD portion takes an average of 3 years