Premed 101 Forums

Interview Q: Medicine vs Nursing

gogopogo

Hi just wanted to see how others would handle this question in an interview:

"If you enjoy helping people, why be a doctor, why not a nurse?"

I know this may seem like a "no duh" but I found it was not the easiest point to defend when challenged.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated, thanks

Answer it honestly. An interview is all about being honest, not about coming up with answers to wow and please them.

Personally, I believe that the challenge of diagnosing patients would provide me with a type of stimulation that I need to be happy with my career. While treating patients is an important part of being a doctor, I think I would miss the element of diagnosis if I were to pursue a career in nursing.

I think there are plently of points you could bring up

one for me would be the scientific/research/design/leadership aspects that the M.D. offers in greater abundance than a nursing career would

but i would say it is a pointed question if you asked the average person this question of would they prefer to be a doc or a nurse and why it their answer would most likely be based on money, prestige etc. Even the nurses I spoke to during my co-op (esp. the male ones) told me I should pursue the MD...perhaps for the same reasons mentioned

Although this may be somewhat of a generalization the average nurse may not require as much scientific reasoning abilitiy as the average doc, just as the average doc may not need as much patience as the average nurse...of course there would be expeceptions to this.

it would be cool to hear what a current med students thoughts on this are...

My mom is just finishing her nursing phd and if she had it to do all over again she would have done an M.D.