Premed 101 Forums

Which schools to apply?

Guest cc

Hello all,

I'm new to the process of applying to Australian schools. I was wondering which schools accept international students with a undergraduate degree?

Any help would be great!

Thanks

cc

Guest UofA man

There are 5 schools that take international students. There is approx. 115 spots available, with Sydeny taking the most followed by Flinders. Yes you can apply to the schools via ACER however some schools allow you to do direct applications, and Flinders also has an early acceptance program. The advantage of applying directly is that you can get more than one interview if you apply through ACER you can only get one interview. When you apply through ACER you rank the schools by your preference, and two or more schools want to interview you, you will the interview with the school you ranked higher and the other intervies will be automatically cancelled.

Hope this helps.

Guest redshifteffect

*Note*

Melbourne is both undergrad/post grad. The important thing to know is that even if you apply as a post grad you GET NO EXEMPTION...meaning you stil have to do the 6 year program.

It is thus "easier" to apply as both if you do want to apply there. As an undergrad you also will not require the MCAT.

Guest kellyl20

Hi RSE:

Could you please list the schools that takes HS grads as you know them? Also, are all the programs 6 years or some of them are 5 years?

Guest redshifteffect

Hello Kelly,

Under grad unis

Monash (Melbourne) - 5 yrs

Uni of NSW (in Sydney) - 6 years

Tas (Hobart) - 6 years (soon to be 5)

Newcastle (in NSW) - no idea

WA (Perth) - no idea

James Cook (Sydney) - No idea

Otago (new zealand) - required to do one year of Health sci first then get into med school

ANU - canberra (brand new) studyat.anu.edu.au/psp2.a...=1&disc=89

Bond - about to open med school but $$$$

Adelaide - no idea - www.adelaide.edu.au/progr...rog/health

Auckland - NZ - need health sci first.