Premed 101 Forums

IMGs

Guest ikaj

So far I have been largely discouraged from applying to foreign medical schools. I have been warned that I would have to forget about my dreams of practicing medicine in Canada if I studied abroad.

Is this really true?

I know there are alot of foreign-graduate medical doctors practicing in Canada.

So I guess it's not impossible then...maybe it's just difficult?

Guest redshifteffect

Its not impossible just very difficult.

You have to match for the 2nd round of CaRMS and there aren't that many spots left afterwards. Also the only spots left are usually GP positions, which most people don't want to do.

The foreign docs that you might be thinking of are usually people who have done their training in their own countries and passed all the Canadian exams.

If you are able to get training in your country which is recognized in Canada (ie UK/Ireland/South African/Aus/NZ) and pass the exams there are very few hassles...if not then you have major problems.

Guest LestatZinnie

check out this link:

www.caribbeanmedicine.com/

From what I hear, if you go to foreign school then you can practically forget about working in Canada as a physician. Of course, nothing is impossible, but the odds are very very slim to my knowledge.

The odds may be even less considering that med school enrolments are increasing in some provinces (at least in BC, Que) so competition for desirable residencies in the near future will be fierce.

Guest redshifteffect

Lestatzinne,

The caribbean medicine site is referring specially to IMGs from the Caribbean that have no post graduate training...with post graduate training from the above mentioned countries the situation is a little different.

Guest quebecboy

Hey,