Premed 101 Forums

Clerkship in French cities

Macster

Hey all,

I was reading the registration agreement form, and it says that McGill is currently developing clerkship programs in Gatineau, Hull, and other cities outside of Montreal, and that we may thus have to spend third year outside Montreal. Now, for someone like me, who is planning to improve my French as much as possible, but still might not be passably bilingual by third year, that notion is a little intimidating.

My question is this: How accommodating is the administration? If I specifically asked for a clerkship in Montreal, would they be nice enough about it, or would they throw me to the wolves with my lack of language skills? I hear that Gatineau and Hull are over 80% francophone. . .

Cheers

Macster

Ha ha...funny you should mention that.

I am an Ottawa U student doing my psych rotation at CHPJ in hull and the nurse yesterday just told me of a McGill student that was sent there who didn`t speak any French! Poor student as everything (charting etc) is done in French at this hospital and many staff but especially pts don`t have strong English skills.

Anyway, I have no idea if the student asked to be placed there or if McGill just sent her there and she had no choice.

But good question to ask the school before you apply/accept so you know what you might be in for!

Actually, the Hull parts of Gatineau are getting very English. There are literally blocks filled w/ anglos due to the rise in housing prices in Ottawa. You can pretty much get by speaking English. In my opinion, it's easier getting services in downtown (just don't leave downtown :eek: ) Gatineau in English than in Ottawa in English.

I better check if there are any other anglos on my block in Hull. I thought I was the only one :P