Premed 101 Forums

Desperately in need of advice...

Guest Farhana

Guest Farhana

Hi there,

I am just wondering if someone could advise me as I am about to make a major decision of my life. I have recently been offered an admission to King Edward Medical College - one of the best universities in Pakistan. The degree <MBBS> is of 5 years in length. The classes start in January 2002.

At the moment, I am very confused about whether I should accept the offer or refuse it.

Currently, I am a high school student completing my OAC year in Toronto.

I would like to become informed of the procedure for dealing with Canadians who have earned medical degrees from abroad - Pakistan ... What requirements have to be met before one with a MBBS degree from Pakistan can practice in Canada.

I understand that in the end it will be "my choice" but I would like to hear others suggestions and opinions on the matter. - Thanks

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. :)

Kind Regards,

Farhana

Guest Farhana

Whoops... I just realized I have posted this in the MCAT Section of the forum... Sorry... I guess the Moderator can move it to the appropriate section of the forum. My apologies.

Guest Ian Wong

I've moved your post to the International Schools forum. I think it's most appropriate here. There's already been a fair amount of discussion here regarding international medical graduates (which is what you would be from Canada's perspective if you graduated from a medical school in Pakistan) and their route to re-entry in Canada.

Basically, as an IMG, you will not be allowed to match into the first round of CaRMS, which decides which specialties you may train in, in Canada. It doesn't matter if you are a Canadian citizen; your IMG status will over-rule that. As a result, your chances of landing a competitive residency in Canada would be very small.