Premed 101 Forums

Carms stats - please help

Hi All,

I've been admitted to medical school at Toronto and Western for Fall 2008 Admission (I'm so pumped!). Problem is, I'm not entirely sure where to go (I'm from London, and wouldn't mind getting out of it for a while, but it IS my home).

The best way I can figure out which is the better school, is to figure out which school has the higher CaRMS matching success rate for its students. Does anyone know what this was for the last several years, or where I can find this information? (I checked the CaRMS website, and couldn't get anything useful). I know its early, but I have an undergraduate degree in Physics and another in Electrical Engineering, so I figure I'll end up in Radiology/Nuclear Medicine (if it helps to know that).

Also, does anyone know if I'd be discriminated against by having 3 degrees from the same University? (I.e. 2 undergraduate degrees + MD from Western).

Thanks a million guys!

e_is_hv

Hey there,

Congrats on your acceptances. I am not sure why match rate would be a key factor in your decision. Match rates usually are dictated by the class' decision to want competitive specialties, whether they have a geographical preference, etc moreso than on the quality of their education.

Because both schools have those programs, I would be more inclined to evaluate your options wrt curriculum, clerkship, city, etc.

I am not sure if you were able to find the 2008 CaRMS stats here: http://carms.ca/eng/operations_R1reports_08_e.shtml

Match rates for 1st choice rank list: http://carms.ca/pdfs/2008R1_MatchResults/22Match%20Results%20by%20First%20and%20Lower%20Ranked%20Program%20Choices%20by%20Medical%20School_en.pdf

Match rates for 1st choice discipline: http://carms.ca/pdfs/2008R1_MatchResults/13Canadian%20Graduates%20Match%20Results%20by%20Choice%20Discipline%20and%20Medical%20School_en.pdf

Good luck with your decisions.

Hey Blinknoodle,