Premed 101 Forums

Paramedic Looking for Some Advice

I am just wondering if someone could help me out. I graduated from Dal in 2005 with my BA(poli sci and IDS). Unfortunately my GPA is not great as I thought my social life should come before my studies. After graduating I went on to paramedic school and have been working in the field for 2 years now. I realize now that I would love to become a doctor, I have taken my high school sciences that I did not have and I plan to apply to take my BSc. My question is will Dal or any other school for that matter even consider me if I take my degree part time?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

I am just wondering if someone could help me out. I graduated from Dal in 2005 with my BA(poli sci and IDS). Unfortunately my GPA is not great as I thought my social life should come before my studies. After graduating I went on to paramedic school and have been working in the field for 2 years now. I realize now that I would love to become a doctor, I have taken my high school sciences that I did not have and I plan to apply to take my BSc. My question is will Dal or any other school for that matter even consider me if I take my degree part time?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Each school looks at different factors when considering your GPA. A lot of schools take every course you've ever taken. Dalhousie, however, only looks at 2 years. They state on their website that they require 5.0 courses per year. However, when I was applying this year, I contacted the Dean of Admissions who agreed to accept my application with only 3.0 courses, since I was working full time at the time (also as a paramedic). That said, I had one year with 3.0 courses and one year with 7.0 courses.

Queen's and Western also only consider two years, meaning that your previous GPA doesn't matter. Queen's requires 3.0 courses per year, while Western requires 5.0 courses per year.