Premed 101 Forums

Criminal record and Medical School

I know a lot of people ask this question but I was not able to find the answer I was looking for. I am a 17 year old student in high school, I'll be going to Univeristy next year with a very serious youth criminal record (not drug related) and it will be removed at the start of 2015 (as by laws of Canada). If I were to enter med. school after 4 years of undergrad. 2015 would be my 2nd year in medical school.

My questions are...

Do they check for criminal records at the beginning or end of med. school?

Does anyone know how I can obtain extra-curricular activities or volunteer experience even with this record?

Are they able to deny me admission because of my youth record and can I appeal their decision?

If anyone knows specifics about Med. Schools in Ontario such as U of T or McMaster...that'd help.

THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR HELP!

oooohhh tough question! Was your crime a crime of moral turpitude and or a crime mala in se (theft murder,rape). this will definitely impact your chances for getting into med school. Also, if you want to do research or volunteer in a hospital, they do perform a criminal record check. Medicine is a position of respect and trust, and as a result med schools and other institutions cannot take any chances. depending on your crime, you may be eligible to get a waiver that a lawyer will have to file for you, it needs to get signed by a law enforcement agency or probation/parole board. your crime cannot be a major crime like the ones listed above.

actually did a project for this back in high school for a law project.