Premed 101 Forums

"The talk" from your GP

When you were a teen, did your GP give you "the talk" about the birds and the bees...

Did you appreciate this advice as a teen, did you flee the office and never go back, did you wish more was said, and most of all, did it change your behaviour in any way?

As a resident, I am currently evaluating what I say to teens who make it to the office. Most of whom I've never met and may never see again. So far I haven't found any quality studies in my lit review to show that physician advice on the issue makes any meaningful difference on risky behaviour (related to STDs/unplanned pregnancy etc). Counselling on sexual health for teens is currently a Grade B (fair evidence for) recommendation from the Cnd Task force on Preventative Health.

Looking forward to your insight.

Ruraldoc

No, I didn't get the talk about the "birds and the bees" from my family physician :P

Growing up, my family physician was a doctor of Asian descent whose patients were mainly recent Asian immigrants. I supsect that if he gave "the talk" to a teenage patient, and the teenager subsequently said to his/her patients "Well, Dr. L said that...", the parents would have probably came after him with dumpling rollers going "Aiya! Aiya!" the whole way through. :D

Never. That was something my parents did.

However, if teens express any concerns or interest in sexual health of any kind, absolutely tell them anything you can, or anything they want to know. You could always start by asking them what they know and if there's anything they'd like to know first, even if the purpose of their visit is something else. Certainly there are teens who's parents don't tell them enough (or even anything) or who are uncomfortable discussing the topic with their parents.

None of my docs did. Mind you neither did my parents, I generally learned the basics on my own...the advanced stuff well...that's what older girlfriends are for, lol.