Premed 101 Forums

Time off during Residency?

Guest BluePin

During ones residency, is it possible to take periods of unpaid leave?

IE. Larger chunks of time: several months - one year off, before returning?

I currently work as a consultant, making more than most physicans, so if I do make the jump to med school (and particularly if I end up overseas for it), it would be nice to be able to go back to consulting for a few intervals, and get the debt sorted and / or supplement the resident income.

Thoughts?

You can take up to a year for parental leave for each child. That's a guarantee. Everything else you'd have to negotiate with your program director. I don't think most would be too thrilled, especially in programs where you taking off for awhile would put a significantly increased call burden on your colleagues (ie surgical stuff, internal medicine).

imo it would be unlikely that a program will let you leave - thereby placing increased burden on the program, including your colleagues - so you can go make some extra cash.

You have to understand the pros and cons of entering medicine as well as the responsibilities and accept these.

You could always choose to enter a residency program after you're done with your consulting?

If you don`t match in the year you graduate, I believe it becomes increasingly harder to match in subsequent years.

I don`t see the point of taking a year off for another job honestly. It just delays the point at which you will become staff and gives you a year to get pretty rusty with your medical knowledge and technical skills.

Why not consider working an extra year prior to med school...save the money and use that for med school instead of trying to take time off during training.