Premed 101 Forums

Sigh...it looks like I won't get in this year, what to do? Any feedback helpful =)

Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting here in a long time. So I have a dilemma with my situation. I just wanted to know what your thoughts are and what do you guys think about my situation? I am an Ontario resident, 23 years old. Ottawa was my last hope of getting in, but someone said their WGPA cutoff this year is 3.88 :(

So, I first started my undergrad at U of T doing Nutritional Sci and Human Bio, and here is how I did there:

Year 1 - 3.31 (with 10 credits)

Year 2 - 3.29 (with 8 credits)

In the middle of second year, I realized that I hated U of T and was not enjoying my labs/classes/profs, so I decided to transfer to York to study Psychology (after doing some amazing research with a psychology prof at U of T, who really inspired me to take a more holisitic look on health and other aspects of it such as psychological and environmental influences). So here is how I did there:

Year 3 - 3.94 (with 10 credits)

Year 4 - 3.94 (with 10 credits)

Year 5 - I am expecting anywhere between a 3.85 and 4.0 (10 or 11 credits)

But here is the problem...I screwed up the MCAT, twice...

The first time I wrote it, it was pretty terrible. The month before I had to write it, my grandfather died, and throughout my second year of university, he was really sick, and...it was a pretty tough thing for me to go through, because we were really close. I ended up getting a 30Q on it....but it was in the worst way possible: 13P - 13V - 4B - Q

It was the old paper and pencil version, and I lost focus at the end of the test when it was going on the 12th hour. And that last month of studying for me was pretty much nil.

So I wrote it again this summer, and I bombed it again...this time I got: 8P - 8V - 10B - P

I was really dissapointed, because I was doing really well on practice tests and I felt really confident after leaving the exam. I even took a Kaplan course for this.