Premed 101 Forums

Post-PhD Medical School Application

Hey Everyone,

I'm curious as to whether there are many people out there with a situation similar to mine. If so, I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts on this stage of ones academic life.

I completed my BSc in BioMedical Science from Guelph back in 2002, with a modest overall GPA of 3.44, but my last couple years were around 3.7. I applied to a few Ontario schools at that time, but my low MCAT score (28R) and the fact that I avoided Organic Chem in undergrad really hurt my application potential and I was passed up for interviews at the few schools I applied to.

I took a year off to work, then decided to evaluate graduate school opportunities. After some hunting around from coast to coast, I accepted a position at UBC. After my first year in an MSc program I was enjoying my project, and I decided that reclassifying to a PhD would be a smoother path to a professional degree than toughing out the unpredicable world of medical school admissions.

For the first couple years of my PhD studies I tried to put the notion of being a medical doctor out of my mind and focused on alternate career opportunities such a academic research, biotech employment (which I've never really desired), or becoming a full-time teaching professor. However I always felt that I was 'settling' for something less than my true goal of being a medical doctor.

So in my fourth year of PhD studies I evaluated what it would take to create a competitive application for medical school. Even though I'm approaching 30 yrs old now, I figure I've still got a lot of good years ahead of me, and I've met many MD-PhDs during my graduate studies, known as 'Clinician-Scientists', who maintain a nice blend of both patient-vists and lab research in their careers.