Premed 101 Forums

Windsor Program FAQs

Hey Guys,

I am a first year med student at the Schulich Windsor Campus. I thought people out there might have some questions as to how it works. So feel free to post any questions you have and I will try to answer them.

The Windsor program (for preclerkship) is housed in a brand new Medical Education Building on the University of Windsor campus. The third year Schulich clerks that are based in Windsor are based out of the hospitals in Windsor. If you look around the schulich website you can probably find some photos of the building ( http://www.schulich.uwo.ca ) and here is the link to the Windsor program site ( http://www.uwindsor.ca/medicine ).

Here is a typical week for a Schulich student at Windsor (London does all the same things but the small groups can be on different afternoons).

M-F 8:30 am to 11:30 am are videoconference (VC) lectures. The lecturer is usually in London broadcasting to Windsor, but there have been a couple of Windsor to London broadcasts. VC is pretty cool and high tech. Each classroom has three projector screens at the front of the class with the powerpoint presentation on the middle one, the video feed from Windsor on the left and the video feed from London on the right. There is a microphone and a 'buzzer' for every two students in London and Windsor. To ask a question you hit this buzzer/button and you are in queue to ask a question. When the instructor wishes to answer questions, a camera zooms in on the person asking the question and the mic becomes active. The video than switches back to the instructor when they begin answering the question.

Depending on which block of material we are learning we will have a couple of independent learning modules, which are basically a lecture you learn by yourself at your leisure. Usually two to four per week.