Premed 101 Forums

Which Mcat Books shud I buy

vick001

Currently, I'm in my first year of undergraduate studies. I'd like to start studying for Mcat this summer and hopefully write an attempt by the end of next summer. My brother's in his second year and will be studying this summer as well. I was wondering what are the best books for MCAT prep? I plan on buying books this and next summer by saving money and getting a few on my birthday. I want to know which books are good so I can start saving for them. Thanks

For verbal, I'd go with examkrackers (it's abbreviated to EK fairly often on this site). With the others, I've had good luck with Kaplan.

Just a disclaimer, these books are great for review, but I would strongly recommend against using them as a primary learning tool. Here are some textbooks I'd recommend (and these are more important than MCAT books right now, given that you're in your first year and are likely still being introduced to the material for the first time):

Organic Chemistry: Hornback

College Physics: Knight, Jones, Field

Chemistry: The Central Science: Brown, Lemay, Bursten, Murphy

Biology: Campbell and Reece

Physics For Scientists and Engineers Volume 4: Knight (this one is only really helpful for the electricity part of the physical sciences component, but it is great for it. With this book under your belt, you'll roll through any of the electricity questions, and it presents the material in a reasonable way).