Premed 101 Forums

Studying just for VR

sv3

Hi,

Any insight into how long one should study for the VR section of the MCAT?

I'm a mature applicant and work 80 hrs a week and am putting all my eggs in the MacMaster basket and only intend to do the VR section. Was just hoping to get some insight from you scholars before I go for it.

I don't know how well I'd fare refreshing myself on the basic sciences since it's been 5 yrs since I completed my last science degree so that's why I'm going the risky route.

thanks in advance

sv

Guys you are way behind. Mac now requires the MCAT but looks solely at VR.

If you want to get good at VR you should start by practicing a couple full length VR sections so you know where you stand and what you are in for. Get a book (Kaplan or Examkrackers seem to be the best) and master the strategies. Then practice practice practice until your test day.

that Mac really won't care about the other three sections? I literally am planning on not doing anything for those and wondering if "behind the scenes" it will make me look unworthy.

I might give the sciences a shot if it looks a bit familiar but not holding my breath. Seeing how most people write them after a couple of years in university I'm pretty much screwed there but I hear Mac has a thing for "unique" applicants so I'm going to give it a shot.

thanks

that Mac really won't care about the other three sections? I literally am planning on not doing anything for those and wondering if "behind the scenes" it will make me look unworthy.

I might give the sciences a shot if it looks a bit familiar but not holding my breath. Seeing how most people write them after a couple of years in university I'm pretty much screwed there but I hear Mac has a thing for "unique" applicants so I'm going to give it a shot.

thanks