Premed 101 Forums

question about AMCAS 2010

I just found it, thanks Jochi. AMCAS is a sexy beast!

From the FAQ:

I applied to AMCAS in 2008. Do I need to enter all my information again?

No. Information entered into a 2008 AMCAS Application will "roll-over" to the AMCAS 2009 application.

Guest viscous

ok so I was reading AMCAS instructions, for Canadian Applicants it says that "select the province in which you were born .... ". Can we still choose a country of birth in this section if it is other than Canada while we now possess Canadian citizenship???? So basically, does AMCAS acknowledge the fact that Canadians can be people who were NOT born in Canada?

Moreover, I graduated from a high school in a country that some Americans might take as an "extremist" state. Would graduating from a high school from that country introduce any bias against me just because I studied there?

under section 1 "identifying information".. you can select the country of birth to be "other".. then actually choose a country and a city. But then in section 3 you can choose your citizenship to be Canadian.

Regarding your other question.. I have a similar dilemma because I did a lot of activities as an Arabic language tutor and course exam corrector etc, and I did my highschool in Syria and even one year in Saudi Arabia (which I assume is what you are talking about here).. but I will still mention all that. I think it will give me credit for having experiences in different countries.. If i get invited to interview they will realize sooner or later that I'm Middle Eastern, so might as well try to use it first to my advantage. just my two cents.

• 2 weeks later...

Hey Username,

I think the information rolls over only if you actually applied (ie paid the fee/submitted the application) the year before...

I was wondering about that myself and I sent an email to AMCAS to inquire, and this is the response I got: