Premed 101 Forums

Chemical Engineer

Hey guys I have been reading these forums for quite a while now and I have been slowly gaining interest in medicine, my question to you guys is that I am in 3rd Year of my ChemE degree at Waterloo and I was thinking of applying to med school, btw my gpa is 3.9

so I needed to know was that is it usual for medical schools to accept people of different degrees and also if hopefully if I do ever get accepted would I be able to survive Med school compared to all the kids who took life science or biomed in their undergrad. So basically do they teach you all the required stuff in your first year so that you know what is basically going on.

Second I was wondering in which year could you apply for Med School, 3rd Year or 4th Year becasue i have seen a lot of people appy in their 3rd year how exactly does that work; do you skip your 4th year of uni or what.

So it would be real helpful if you guys could help.

You can apply to med schools with any type of degree.

Regarding which year you can apply, it varies between schools. Figure out which schools you'd like to go to, and then check their websites. It'll say there whether you can apply with 3 years or if you need the 4 year. Just from anecdotes on this board, though, even for programs that accept 3 year degrees, people have far greater success in being accepted with a four year degree.

As for how you'd fair, there are people in medicine right now who have English degrees. They teach you the science you need to know.

I highly recommend you finish your degree, because it's valuable...plus you get a cool ring.

Medical school is designed so that you really don't need any certain background. That being said, med school is a lot of memorize and regurgitate, unlike engineering.

You can definitely survive, but I find you have to work harder than people who were in life sci (who still have to work really hard).