Premed 101 Forums

Do I have a shot?

Hey everyone

I am thinking of applying to both MD and DO programs in the U.S. I graduated from McMaster health sciencesa few years back with an OMSAS GPA of about 3.25 (something like that). I think my UofT adjusted GPA would be about 3.6. I took the MCAT in 2004 and scored 11verb, 8bio, 8phys, S.

Since graduating I have traveled a bit and worked as a tutor and at Scotiabank.

When I was younger (High School through till 2nd year university) I volunteered in hospitals and senior's residences and I worked as a phlebotomist and EKG tech. I also did a few years of research in neurology at the UHN but never published anything.

After thinking about it for a long time and being exposed to it as well, I think that I would make a good physician and that I would enjoy it as well.

Do I have a shot at a school in the states with these stats? I'm thinking I might have to raise my GPA and I am retaking the MCAT this summer.

Should I even bother applying for entry in 2010? What schools should I look at? And how hard is it to get money to pay for school coming from Canada?

You are asking lots of good questions! I would start with these two things:

I took the MCAT in 2004 and scored 11verb, 8bio, 8phys, S.

You really should aim for a score of 10 or above in each section. A total score of >30 will get your application looked at; a score of >35 will give your application some serious consideration.

After thinking about it for a long time and being exposed to it as well, I think that I would make a good physician and that I would enjoy it as well.

This statement is essentially the question you are asked to answer in your personal statement. Think really REALLY hard about it and make it into a one page essay that is convincing, genuine, and interesting.

disclaimer .... slight deviation from thread topic, sorry!

Jochi: did you apply to the States this year? (just out of pure curiousity)