Premed 101 Forums

Question regarding second degrees

My story is one full of what Oscar Wilde would call 'experience', and is probably not that different (save a few minor details regarding dates, places, people et cetera) from the stories told and experienced by many other people posting on this forum.

So here it goes

I'm currently 27 years old and have started thinking about medical school (again). When I was a teenager my stated goal in life was to be an MD, i had it all mapped out and if I had followed my plan I'd be finishing my third year of medicine right now. And since i'm posting this story would be safe to say that at some point I deviated from 'the plan'.

I graduated high school with good marks, and started my undergrad at Trent University. During first year I suffered a break down of sorts and totally stopped caring about my education. I somehow managed to pass all my courses with an average in the low 60s. Second year I continued on the same course, except my marks got worse (ended the year in the 50s), about half way through third year I figured out that needed to stop worrying about stupid things in life and start focusing on what I wanted (however by this time my interests had moved away from medicine and towards getting a masters and PhD in anthropology). By the end of third year my marks had improved. 4th year saw more improvement, my marks were all consistently in the 80s and high 70s. And things got even better in my 5th year - though I never once cracked the 85 barrier.

I applied to grad school but was declined.

In the wake of this i rediscovered that I wanted to be involved in medicine, so took some courses at Fleming and applied for various paramedic programs and spent the last two years training to be a PCP.

And that brings us to now.