Premed 101 Forums

Please help: Should I re-apply--New Canadian immigrant accepted by US med school

Well, this is complicated. I grew up in Asia and have been studied in the US as a foreign student since high school. I did not know that I would be issued Canadian PR (permanent resident) when I applied to 7 US medical schools plus McGill. Now I have one acceptance and 4 waitlist, including McGill. Thinking of the terrible debt (no financial aid at all)and the matching issues I will be facing if I study medicine in the US, I am seriously considering re-apply to McGill next year (I am currently a Quebec resident).

My credentials:

Early graduation from a top US university

GPA 3.96/4.0; MCAT: 39

1 year research, hospital volunteer, shadowing, decent activities, lots of community services, leadership, winner of a summer research program; research assistant and teaching assistant right after graduation.

I got almost all interviews except for Harvard, one acceptance, 4 waitlists and 2 rejections. It was the first time I heard of MMI when I got email notice from McGill. The interview must have been a disaster.

I may lose my Canadian PR if I study medicine in the US (PR holder must physically present in the country for a defined period).

Should I write a letter to McGill? Should I re-apply if not accepted? Please help!

First off, that is an awesome MCAT score. Despite English not being your native language and you still pulled a 10 in verbal. Thats awesome.

I guess some questions you can ask yourself is,

Do you like the school where you got acceptance from?

Would like to live and practice in the States after? Or would you like to go back to Canada?

What would you do for the year if you wait to reapply to McGill?