Premed 101 Forums

concerned about med school

Guest main82

Hi. I'm in my second year and I eventually hope to go to med school. But I'm a little concerned now, because I didn't do so good in my first year and my second year is not looking too good. I am stressing over this so much lately and I would appreciate some guidence. My current situation is as follows:

- first year GPA 2.5

- second year GPA (I'm hoping a 3.5, with my lowest mark dropped)

- my first year GPA with one of my lowest marks dropped is 2.66

I am planning to study 4 years before applying and I read that I could drop 4 of my lowest marks. Is it one course per year or can you drop 4 courses in the same year?

I calculated and if i can drop 3 of my first courses i'd have 2.9 avg. And IF with some miracle I can manage to get 3.5 2nd year, 4.0 3rd and 4th I would have a cumulative avg of 3.6. I know it would be real hard to get 4.0 avg but I just want to know if there's any hope left for me. My main problem is studying last minute and i'm working on it as much as I can but there's still room for improvement. So I would really appreciate it if someone can tell me if I still have a chance or I should just give up entirely. And if there is, how would it be possible? and how does UofT look at an application like mine?

I think your best shot would be at UWO. They only look at 2 years, each wiht 5 full-year courses. The cut-off for this cycle is 3.70. I believe Mac looks at all 4 years and requires an overall average of 3.00. I don't think you have much of a shot at Ottawa unless if you live there and are Francophone (maybe Ottawa meds could clarify this for me). The Queen's cut-off was 3.59 this year. I think that is overall average.

U of T is another story. The use a weighted average. I think they take off the lowest grade each year. They require a minimum of 3.6 this year I believe.