Premed 101 Forums

Where to do undergrad (Canada or the US)

I'm a Canadian high school student and I have a good chance at admission to some decent colleges in America for my undergrad (Vanderbilt, Cornell, Columbia, etc). I can pretty much get into any program I want in Canada. I want to become a doctor and I have two options. One is to leave for the US and the other is the famous MacMaster Health Sciences program, which pretty much ensures my admission to med school in Canada. I have confidence in my abilities.

I was wondering what you recommend. Will I have a chance at admission to a fine US med school from MacMaster University? Because despite the specific program's reputation in Canada, MacMaster U is not a well-known school world-wide. My other option (which is more appropriate for US med school apps) is McGill, but that would be a huge risk since I can pretty much ensure my acceptance to Canadian med schools from MacMaster's.

Thanks for your time

...is the famous MacMaster Health Sciences program, which pretty much ensures my admission to med school in Canada. I have confidence in my abilities.

LOL ... i think u have that last part of the information wrong... theres no undergraduate program that "GUARANTEES" your admission to med school.

A high portion of Health Sciences class gets into med school but it does not guarantee anything.

The chances of getting in would be high though. So if you get accepted into health sciences, it would be the most economical option.

But then you would be missing out on the fame of the Cornell/Columbia etc...

Having done an undergrad at these unis will always stay with you, in case you decide not to pursue medicine afterwards.

Will I have a chance at admission to a fine US med school from MacMaster University?

Thanks for your time

MacMaster, no they would tell you it doesn't exist. But then you could go to the school website and forward it to them and they would say "OHHH, you meant McMaster." Then maybe. lol