Premed 101 Forums

I am low on motivation.

Hi, I am so empty on motivation.. it's just frustrating.

I'm studying for my MCAT for the second summer in a row (Aug.14th) and it's so hard to get myself up in the mornings and studying throughout the day! I don't know what it is that's sapping my energy. Actually, it could be many things like my terrible financial situation, job, age and still not achieving my goal.

I've been trying to watch as many inspirational movies as I can and they help and I'm always inspired while watching them, but it's easy to forget the emotions the next day at the library.

I'm trying to stick to the 3 pillars of study, exercise and sleep above all else but results are slow and my MCAT date is nearing fast.

What are some techniques you all use to stay motivated and focused?

Doing well in MCAT will certainly motivate you, however, you need to be motived to do your best in MCAT.

Financial situation, age, job, not having achieved your goals are all totally irrelevant! The key to achieving your goal is to do the best of which you are capable on the MCAT, and to do the best of which you are capable rerquires focus, perseverence, creating a plan and schedule and sticking to it. Nothing else really matters. It is a brutal process and there are no shortcuts. This is your job with a defined expiry date and the clock is ticking. So clear your mind and simply focus.

In other words, give up, throw in the towel - or, better, buckle down and implement the plan of action. It ain't easy I know. Just do it. This is your fulltime job until you write it. And of course, results are slow, why should do be any different than the rest of us? Forget the movies, if you want it, you will do it b/c you have no choice, tick tock, get moving. Study smart and if you need help in understanding, find it.