Premed 101 Forums

Such a thing as using a verifier too many times?

Is it weird if one person I know can verify my activities in many of the clubs/organizations I've joined?

This person isn't an exec or anything, but they're just my friend that knows I participate in these clubs.

Also, is it bad if this person is also a pre-med that is also applying this cycle? Just looks sketchy (kinda like I'm getting a friend to verify everything).

I currently have one verifier for 9 sketch items. I worked for the same organization for 8 years and had a lot of promotions and completed relevant specialzed training that I am mentioning. It made more sense in my situation to have my most recent supervisor/manager verify all of them.

My PhD supervisor is my verifier for about 15 of my sketch items (publications, conference presentations, NSERCs, research awards...). Also, a friend of mine is vouching for several activities I did during undergrad (I graduated in 2001, so it's awhile ago and it's nearly impossible to track down people more directly related to these activities).

I don't see how using one person for several related activities, or for a few activities that you did awhile back, could put you at any serious disadvantage.

Is it weird if one person I know can verify my activities in many of the clubs/organizations I've joined?

This person isn't an exec or anything, but they're just my friend that knows I participate in these clubs.

Also, is it bad if this person is also a pre-med that is also applying this cycle? Just looks sketchy (kinda like I'm getting a friend to verify everything).

It is all fine. Presumably, this person also joined these clubs. If not, theoretically, this person has no personal knowledge to verify b/c it is all hearsay, i.e., the friend only knows what you told him/her not being able to verify anything.