Premed 101 Forums

OMSAS Course Length Question

I've been delaying on submitting my application for the past while. I periodically open my file, and adjust the wording and content of my autobiographical sketch and the like... but I finally decided to submit today.

When I went to submit, it warned me that I exceeded 10 course lengths in one year and that this is unusual. As such I wanted to clarify how it defines these things.

I studied my undergrad at uOttawa, where all the courses that I took were half year/single semester courses. During one of my years I took 11 of these courses, 5 one semester and 6 during another. Does this constitute 11 lengths or actually only 5.5? This question is similar to a few that I saw asked previously, but the answers didn't seem to answer my problem... so I apologize if this is considered a repeat.

As a secondary aspect to this question, when I am entered the credit value/weight for the courses, I just based it off of the values in the grade report on my uOttawa page. The standard there is 3 credits per semester, which is quite different from the 1 credit per course year that I read about all the time.

I have lots of other questions, regarding the sketch and such, but they aren't really of as much importance as this.

Cheers

I got the same warning message last year. Don't worry - it just means you took a heavier than expected course load that year. With 6 courses in a semester, it is considered a heavier workload (since it takes only 4-5 courses/sem to be considered full-time).

I believe the warning message is only to alert people if they happened to make a mistake in entering their courses.